While I’m looking forward to staying at the beach, the real purpose of my visit is to visit my brother, Steve and Pia. They live at a mission post in the Amani Nature Reserve. The reserve was established in 1997 to protect the biodiversity of the flora and fauna of the rainforests of the East Usambara mountains. The East Usambaras have been compared to the Galapagos Islands in terms of their biological significance for biodiversity. There are three endemic bird species, the Usambara Alethe, the Naduk Eagle owl and the Usambara weaver. According to the guide book, it is ’25 Km from Muheza on a dirt road that most of the year requires a 4 x 4′ – mmm interesting. So although my daughter seems to think I’m going to the plains and will be watching wildebeest and lions and stuff – I won’t. I think it will be a quite different type of African experience. And yeah I’m really looking forward to it. 17 days to go!

