I’m fortunate that I work in the lovely North West city of Lancaster. Although I do mostly drive into the city centre most days to do some shopping – what a shock, I do now and again venture towards the coast and Morecambe. Once a vibrant and thriving georgian seaside resort it had fallen on very hard times in the late 90’s. However, over the last few years the place has been given a spruce up and although there are some pretty run down areas, they are trying. I love Morecambe bay with its forever and dangerous shifting sands and tides. It is said that the tide can come in with the speed of a galloping horse.  You can take guided walks across the top part of the bay at low tide.  Two years ago 21 cockle pickers died after being caught in the rising tide. I went down there last week and parked opposite one of my favourite shops.

book-shop.jpg

As you can see from the outside it’s pretty chaotic and the inside is no different, but if you like old bookshops it’s a real treasure trove. Of course despite having a pile of books waiting to be read at home, I bought a couple more, Brighton Rock by Graeme Green, and In Patagonia by Bruce Chatwin.

There are a number of brilliant sculptures dotted around the town and the promenade and of course the comedian Eric Morecambe is immortalised in his famous ‘Bring me Sunshine’ pose. eric21.jpg

Morecambe also produced another ‘national treasure’ in the late Thora Hird.  It is worth re-visiting and I’ll take more time next time.   But of course I  took the time to take a picture of some plants.  I didn’t actually realise I had this plant thing – I am turning into my mother!

primulas2.jpg

