I was very fortunate that my visit coincided with an annual event that was truly astonishing.  Mid to late February sees the emergence of hundreds and thousands (literally) of small white butterflies.  They were everywhere and it was almost like being in one of those toys that you shake to make the snow whirl around, but these were real.  I did try to take some photos of them but – they were very small butterflies.  As Pia and I walked up the hill one day as they were fluttering around us, I burst into song,  of course,  Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah (yes I did look up the spelling) from the 1946 movie Song of the South.  So lesson learned – get a better camera! This is the best of the attempts, you can see a sort of white blur and a few white dots – these are butterflies – honestly.
butterflytree3.jpg

Now I’ve reduced the size to fit into this it’s even less clear – you’ll have to take my word for it.

