On Friday I attended the conference for Blackpool and The Fylde College which was held at the Guild Hall in Preston. As we collected our badges, I was astonished to see we were in the ‘corporate guests’ category and as such were treated as VIPs. What a hoot. For the welcome coffee we were sent back stage to a dressing room. Anyway the day was titled ‘ A Grand Day Out’ and I think all the college staff were in attendance. Stephen Heppell did his usual barnstorming, thought provoking stuff as keynote, then I went to workshops on Not School (another Stephen Heppell production), Ellen Lessner from Abingdon and Witney College, did a great job on introducing staff to assistive software.

timrylands.jpg

However, the highight of the day for me was Tim Rylands who was just so inspiring, creative and funny. He wrote about the day here. He won a Becta teachers award in 2005 for his work in a primary school in the South West using the game Myst. I wish I’d had a teacher like him. So it was after all, A Grand Day Out – well done Blackpool and Fylde College.

When I got home – still no internet connection, now starting to panic.

