The post of Appleby Horse Fair has been one of the most popular I’ve done, well apart from the pitta bread one so I thought I’d find some pictures. It finishes today but some horse drawn caravans are already on the road. The BBC Cumbria website has over 50 pictures of the fun and games in the water but I’ve pinched a few which I thought were rather special.

applebyhorsefair_boyandpiebalds.jpg

Look at these two little chaps, one with his Mum and one holding her lead rope.

applebyhorsefair_swimming.jpg

Two of them enjoying a swim in the river. Yes the horses do swim and enjoy it too. Well if they didn’t you couldn’t make them do it.

applebyhorsefair_caravan.jpg

The caravans are really quite magnificent, if rather small, no wonder most of the families have extra large conventional caravans also to take all the extra stuff.

