My nephew and I travelled down to the Peak District yesterday to visit his sister (so therefore my niece) and her husband who are expecting their first baby in the New Year. It was lovely to see her looking so well and happy and positive and I can’t wait to have a grand nephew! After the usual – how is everyone stuff we got in the car and drove to the pretty village of Beeley which is about a mile and half from Chatsworth House. The Devonshire Arms is a “chic country pub, traditional Inn and Brasserie” – and we went there for lunch and wow what a lunch it was. I started with marinated scallops – with a multi coloured salad. What I thought was a died egg – it looked like one ok – was in fact a dark purple potato. I’ve never experienced purple potatoes before and it was good and tasty and potato like, which is I suppose the requirement of a potato of any hue. Next was sausage and mash with a gravy that tasted like it had been simmered down for about 3 days it was so delicious. Finally and this is very unusual for me I managed a pudding – lemon posset. Simple, creamy, heavenly, exquisite, delicious – just wonderful, it didn’t touch the sides. So thanks guys and look after that not so little bump. I’ll see you in January – a promise!

