I read this with disbelief yesterday, then having laughed out loud decided it was actually quite sad.

“A British Lottery scratch-off game sold by Camelot had to be pulled from circulation after the math involved confused too many players. The Cool Cash Lotto ticket dealt with temperatures, often below zero. To win a prize the temperature number under the scratch off had to be lower than the one displayed on the card.

Tina Farrell, from Levenshulme, called Camelot after failing to win with several cards.

The 23-year-old, who said she had left school without a maths GCSE, said: “On one of my cards it said I had to find temperatures lower than -8. The numbers I uncovered were -6 and -7 so I thought I had won, and so did the woman in the shop. But when she scanned the card the machine said I hadn’t.

“I phoned Camelot and they fobbed me off with some story that -6 is higher – not lower – than -8 but I’m not having it.”

I love the ‘I’m not having it’ bit, so she can look forward to the weatherman announcing that we are expecting temperatures of -20 degrees this weekend – ‘Oh goody, I’ll get my shorts and flip flops out’! I wonder if she knows that her ignorance is being bounced around t’interclacker? I was going to write a post about the state of the Education System in the UK but I’m too depressed.

