Last week the rest of the team went to a meeting in South Manchester. I had to stay in the office so instead of missing out on my words of wisdom, I did my presentation via Instant Presenter. We have a corporate account with the site but had not used it much before. Surprisingly, it went very well. When I’ve used if before, it has been to an ‘audience’ who were all sitting at an individual computers. This time it was on to a big screen with speakers and a microphone. One real disadvantage, is that when set up like this you get no feedback at all and it is really disconcerting just talking into a cyber silence. When it is linked to individual pc’s the participants can use a chat facility at the bottom of the screen so you do get some response. But all in all it was a successful trial and we are going to do it again for subsequent meetings if one of us cannot be there in person.

