I’ve been under the weather a bit in the last couple of days and one thing that helped me ignore the rather unpleasant effects of the ‘winter vomiting virus’ was a brilliant book by Jimmy Carr and Lucy Greaves called The Naked Jape – Uncovering the hidden world of jokes.  It a study of what makes us laugh and why and loads of jokes.  It covers history, politics, religion, race – you name it, it gets a mention.  This is not for those who are easily offended though so don’t rush off and buy it.  It has such gems as:

‘I don’t like country music, but I don’t mean to denigrate those who do.  And for those who like country music, denigrate means put down.’  – Bob Newhart.

And – ‘Throwing acid is wrong, in some people’s eyes’ – Jimmy Carr.

I was concerned that perhaps analysing humour may well make it a bit earnest and remove the comedy value, but that wasn’t to be.  So Kev, thanks it helped a lot.

And finally, in all the mayhem of last week, I became a Great Aunt as my neice gave birth to a baby boy.  So welcome to the world, Finlay Jack McCarthy and congratulations and well done to your new Mum and Dad.  Big kiss and hugs from me – I’ll be down there very soon!

