A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to be given a ticket to see the fourth day of the test match between England and South Africa at Headingley.  Although it was a terrible result for England – they managed to avoid a defeat by an innings – just but still lost by 10 wickets, it was a great experience and I really enjoyed it.  Last weekend I was honoured to be allowed to go and watch Yorkshire play in the County Championship against Surrey.  This was the third time I’d been into Headingley as I had bunked off from my summer job in  1977 to go and see Geoffrey Boycott reach his one hundreth hundred in first class cricket.  On Saturday I was astonished to discover that Mark Ramprakash, the Surrey captain and series 4 winner of Strictly come Dancing, was about to do the same! Despite Yorkshire’s efforts he blasted along to 112 reaching the milestone just after four in the afternoon.

Ramprakash gets his hundreth century

Ramprakash gets his hundreth century

As someone said on the day, it doesn’t happen very often, not many people have seen it done at all and hardly anyone will have seen two with hardly setting foot in a cricket ground in between.  So again it was a pretty boring draw on the day but I enjoy live sport and it was good to be there on such a momentous occasion.

